Motor Vehicle Division
The application must be signed by:
• One natural/adoptive parent, if
married to the other natural/adoptive
• Both natural/adoptive parents, if not
married to each other, but share joint
• One natural/adoptive parent with sole
If neither parent is living:
• Legal guardian (proof required), or
• Foster parent living with the minor
(proof required), or
• Employer of the minor (death
certificates must be shown).
The signatures must be witnessed by an
MVD agent or by a notary public. Signatures
obtained for an instruction permit will be
required again for a driver license.
The person who signed the application
for the minor, as well as the person with
responsibility for the minor, may cancel
the minor’s license. The license may be
canceled by submitting a “Driver License/
ID Cancellation Request“ available online
or at any driver license office or by phone
(see numbers on page 1) or by sending a
notarized letter authorizing the cancellation
to: Motor Vehicle Division, P.O. Box 2100, Mail
Drop 533M, Phoenix, AZ 85001. Indicate the
license number, full name and date of birth
of the person whose license is to be canceled.
Selective Service Registration
Federal law requires that every male United
States citizen and male alien residing in the
United States or its territories must register
with the U.S. Selective Service System within
30 days of his 18th birthday. Arizona law
requires that by submitting an application
for an original, renewal or reinstatement
driver license or identification card, male
applicants under 26 years of age consent
to registration with the Selective Service
as part of the application process. When
submitting an application for a duplicate
driver license or identification card, male
applicants under 26 years of age have the
option to consent to registration as part of
the application process.
Registering with Selective Service does
not mean that you are joining the military.
Registration provides the federal government
with an accurate list of males who might be
called to military service if a return to the draft
is authorized by Congress and the President.
If you are 18 to 25 years of age, registration
information will immediately be sent to
Selective Service. If you are under 18,
information will be stored and automatically
sent to the Selective Service when you
reach age 18. Selective Service will send
you a Registration Acknowledgment Card
when your registration is complete.
For more information, call Selective Service
toll-free at 1.888.655.1825 or sss.gov.
Operator License (Class D)
An operator license allows you to drive any
vehicle that does not require a motorcycle
or commercial license. You must be at least
18 years of age to apply for an operator
Motorcycle License (Class M)
A motorcycle license or endorsement is
required to drive a motorcycle or motor-
driven cycle. You must be at least 16 to
apply for a motorcycle license.
An applicant for a motorcycle license or
endorsement who is under 18 must have
held an Arizona instruction permit for at
least 6-months. The permit must be valid
at the time of application. An applicant
must also have satisfactorily completed
a motorcycle driver education program
that is approved by MVD or the parent or
guardian must certify in writing that the
applicant has completed at least 30 hours
of supervised motorcycle driving practice.
An applicant holding an out-of-state
motorcycle license or endorsement may
be exempt from the driver education/
driving practice and instruction permit
For additional information, see the
Motorcycle Operator Manual, available
online at azdot.gov/mvd or at any MVD or
Third Party office.
Commercial Driver License (Class A, B or C)
A commercial driver license (CDL) is
required for operating a commercial motor
vehicle grouped by the following classes:
• Class A: Any vehicle combination
(truck and trailer) with the Gross
Combination Weight Rating if the
of 26,001 lbs. or more, provided the
Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR)
of trailer(s) are 10,001 lbs. or more.
• Class B: A single vehicle with a GVWR
of 26,001 lbs. or more, or any such
vehicle towing a trailer not in excess
of 10,000 lbs GVWR.
• Class C: A single vehicle not in excess
of 26,000 lbs. GVWR, but is designed
to transport 16 or more passengers,
including the driver or is required to
be placarded to transport hazardous
materials. A Passenger (P) or a
Hazardous Materials Endorsement
(HME) is required to obtain a Class C
You are required to submit a copy of your
Medical Examiner Certificate, form #40-
1504 when you apply for a commercial
driver license or renew an existing license.
Incomplete or inaccurate information on
the examination certificate may result in
suspension or denial of the license. You
must maintain your medical qualification
with MVD and must submit a copy of your
examination certificate every 24 months to
the MVD Medical Review Program.
Failure to do so may result in suspension of
your commercial driving privilege.
Identification (ID) Card
The identification card
is available to all ages
(including infants) for
$12. Persons over the
age of 65 or anyone re-
ceiving Federal Supple-
mental Security Income
disability checks receive
the card free of charge.
You may not possess an
identification card and
a driver license at the
An Arizona ID Card with a photo allows law
enforcement agencies to rapidly distribute
your child’s information and photograph in
the event of an AMBER ALERT.
A new photo will be needed as your child
grows and changes. Photo updates are
available at MVD offices. A duplicate
identification card with the new photo
costs only $12.
What do I need to bring to MVD?
See: “Items needed to obtain a license or ID.”
The child’s Social Security number is
required. It will be used to verify the
child’s identity and to comply with federal
and state laws. It will not be used as the
identification card number.
Required for a Driver License or
Identification and Proof of Age
The following listing is subject to change.
MVD reserves the right to review, consider
and request additional information and
documentation in making determinations
regarding age, identity and authorized
presence. Please check our website for
• You need two types of documents
listed — one must have a clear photo
of you, or;
• Three documents listed with no photo.
One must be listed under “Primary” (below).
• All must be originals or copies
certified by the issuing agency.
• All must be in English.
PRIMARY (must include Date of Birth)
Social Security number is required to verify
identity and to comply with federal and
• Enhanced Driver License or Enhanced
ID Card issued by any state in the
US — (Evidenced by the word
“Enhanced” printed on the card.)
• Enhanced Tribal Card (Tohono
O’odham Nation, Kootenai Tribe and
Pascua Yaqui Tribe)
Motor Vehicle Division
• Birth Certificate issued by any state,
territory or possession of the US
(Hospital records/certificates and
California Certified Abstracts of Birth
are not acceptable.)
• Delayed Birth Certificate issued by
any state, territory or possession of
• US Certificate of Birth Abroad
• US Passport or Passport Card
• Arizona ID Card
• Tribal Certificate of Indian Blood
• Tribal or Bureau of Indian Affairs
Affidavit of Birth.
• Foreign Passport with US Visa or Visa
Waiver I-94W (Green) or Admission
Stamp (classes WB & WT eligible for ID
• I-94 Form presented without
passport. If without photo, must also
provide other acceptable form of
• Permanent Resident Card/Resident
Alien Card, I-551.
• USCIS Employment Authorization
Card (EAC), except for an EAC with
one of the following category codes:
A11 (Deferred Enforced Departure),
C14 (Deferred Action).
• Refugee Travel Document I-571
• US Certificate of Naturalization
• US Certificate of Citizenship
• US Military DD-214
• US Military ID Card (active duty,
reserve and retired)
• Record of a previous Arizona Driver
License, ID Card or Instruction Permit
• Affidavit of Identification (with photo
and within 15 days of issue) from
Arizona Department of Corrections.
• Released Offender ID (with photo)
from Arizona Department of
• ALPHA Program/Community Re-Entry
ID from the Maricopa County Sheriff’s
• Affidavit of Identification (with photo
and within 15 days of issue) from the
Maricopa County Adult Probation
SECONDARY (does not have to include
Date of Birth)
• Driver License, ID Card or Instruction
Permit issued by any state, territory or
possession of the US.
• Arizona Certificate of Birth (Foreign
• Social Security Card
• US Military Dependent ID Card
• US Armed Forces Driver License
• US Department of Veterans Affairs
• US Department of Justice Inmate ID
• Motor Vehicle Record or Clearance
Letter (within 30 days of issue)
• Legal Guardian Certificate
• Selective Service Card
• W-2 Form
• Concealed Weapons Permit
• Medical Insurance ID Card (including
AHCCCS ID card)
• Professional License
• Bank Card
• Credit Card
• Employee ID Badge (with photo)
• School ID (with photo)
• Marriage Certificate issued by any
state, territory or possession of the US
• Certified Letter of Identification for a
Ward of the Court, issued by a court
or government agency in the US
• Decrees from Court of Record:
- Legal Guardian
- Name Change
You may obtain a duplicate license for $12 if
you meet one of the following criteria:
• Your Arizona driver license or
identification card is lost, stolen,
destroyed, or becomes unreadable.
(If your license has been lost or stolen
and you have reason to believe
someone else is using it, the incident
should be reported to your local
police department as an identity
• Your address or name changes.
• You wish to update your photo.
• You wish to remove your Social
Security number from your license.
• You wish to convert a graduated
license to an under 21 driver license.
• You wish to convert an under 21
license to a regular driver license.
• You must provide two acceptable
items of identification. If your name
has changed, you will need to present
identification in both your new and
previous names (i.e., court document).
A duplicate license may be obtained
online at ServiceArizona.com or by calling
toll-free 1.877.301.8093 and using a major
If your license was issued prior to July 1995,
you must visit an MVD office to obtain
the duplicate so that your photo may be
Applying for a Title and
When you buy a vehicle, Arizona law
requires that you apply for a title within 15
days of purchase or transfer. If your vehicle
was registered in another state and you
wish to operate it in Arizona, you must
register it here as soon as you become an
Arizona resident (see “Resident Definition”
on page 7).
Most vehicles may be registered for
either 1- or 2-year periods. (Some vehicles
must be emission tested every year and
are, therefore, not eligible for 2-year
A 5-year registration option is offered for
vehicles that do not require an emissions
test during the five years of the registration
How much does it cost to title and
register my vehicle?
Title Fee ....................................................$4
Registration Fee -
in air quality attainment areas ..............$8
in air quality non-attainment areas ...$8.25
Annual Air Quality Fee (AQF) ............$1.50
Vehicle License Tax (VLT) ...........................*
*The VLT fee is based on an assessed value
of 60% of the manufacturer’s base retail
price reduced by 16.25% for each year since
the vehicle was first registered in Arizona
(15% before 8/1/98). The rate is calculated
at $2.80 (new vehicles)/$2.89 (used vehicles)
for each $100 of the assessed value.
For example, in addition to registration/for
a new vehicle that costs $25,000, the first
year assessed value would be $15,000 and
the VLT would be $420.00. The second year
the assessed value would be $12,562.50
and the VLT would be $363.06.
Your vehicle may require an emission
test. For information on emissions testing
requirements, call 1.877.692.9227 or online
If the vehicle has commercial registration,
additional weight and commercial
registration fees may apply.
Renewals can be completed online at
ServiceArizona.com via mail, in an MVD
office, or an Authorized Third Party
office. Renewals must be submitted or
postmarked on or before midnight on
the due date (15th day of the month for
some, last day of the month for others)
or you will be subject to late penalty
fees. Review your registration document
If you do not receive a renewal notice
before the end of the registration period,
you must still renew by the expiration date.
90-Day Resident Registration
An Arizona resident who does not have
complete documentation for issuance of
a title or registration may apply for a 90-
day Resident Registration. This registration
allows you to operate the vehicle while
obtaining additional documentation. The
fee is $15. When complete documentation
Motor Vehicle Division
is submitted, vehicle license taxes will be
calculated for the full year, back to the
date of issuance of the 90-day Resident
A plate cannot be displayed on another
vehicle until the title and registration
have been processed through MVD or an
Authorized Third Party. If it is necessary
to operate the vehicle to complete this
transaction, the owner must obtain a
Restricted Use 3-Day Permit for private
sales or a Temporary Registration Plate
(TRP) for vehicles purchased from a
licensed motor vehicle dealer.
When You Sell Your Vehicle
When you sell your vehicle, fill in the transfer
information on the back of the vehicle title,
have it notarized and give it to the new
owner. You must also complete a Sold Notice
on the back of the registration or online at
Plate and Fee To Owner (PFTO)
• Plate stays with you when your
vehicle is sold.
• Get credit for remaining fees when
you transfer plate and fees to another
vehicle or apply for a refund.
Processing fee required ($12).
Arizona law provides that a license plate
belongs to you, the vehicle owner. When
that vehicle is sold, you remove and retain
You must remove the plate upon sale
of the vehicle, then within 30 days you
are required to take one of the following
actions through MVD or an Authorized
Third Party provider:
• Transfer the plate to another vehicle, or;
• Turn in the plate, or;
• Submit a signed statement that the
plate was destroyed, lost, stolen, or
Don't wait. Credit reduces each month
not used unless you have taken one of the
previously listed actions.
Apply for a plate credit refund online at
Vehicle Inspection Program
The Vehicle Inspection Program provides
vehicle inspections for the purpose of
detecting stolen vehicles or stolen vehicle
parts before the vehicle is titled and
registered in this state.
These inspections only apply to those
vehicles that are being registered for
the first time in Arizona or vehicles that
have been restored, salvaged or are
of questionable identity. The vehicle
inspection program consists of three levels
• Level I inspections are typically
performed on vehicles coming to
Arizona from another country, or
through either the bonded title
or abandoned vehicle verification
process. A Level I inspection may
be required for first-time Arizona
registration of an out-of-state vehicle.
There is no fee.
• Level II inspections are performed on
vehicles when a public or secondary
vehicle identification number is
missing or appears to have been
altered or modified. These inspections
are also performed on reconstructed
and specially constructed vehicles.
There is a $20 fee.
• Level III inspections are performed
on most salvage titled vehicles or
vehicles found to have salvage status
brands on major component parts.
There is a $50 fee.
Items Needed for a Title and
The following steps must be taken in order
to obtain an Arizona title, registration and
license plate for a vehicle previously titled
or registered in another state. This is general
information only. Any title and registration
action may present special requirements.
Before you register, your vehicle may
need to be emission tested. The Arizona
Department of Environmental Quality
(ADEQ) is responsible for vehicle emission
Vehicles Commuting Into the Emissions
Arizona law requires that if a vehicle is
being driven to work from an area that
does not require an emission test, into an
area that does require emission testing, the
vehicle must be emission tested.
For current information concerning
emission test requirements, commuting,
including exemptions and fees, call toll-
free 1.877.692.9227, 24 hours, or online at
Every motor vehicle operated on the
roadways of this state must be covered
by an insurance liability policy issued by
a company that is licensed to do business
in Arizona. The policy must be an Arizona-
based policy that reflects where the vehicle
is predominantly being operated.
Minimum levels of financial responsibility
for private passenger vehicles are:
• $15,000 bodily injury liability for one
person and $30,000 for two or more
• $10,000 property damage liability.
You must have current proof of that
insurance in the vehicle, when operating
the vehicle. Law enforcement officers
will ask you for proof of insurance at the
time of traffic stops or crashes. Insurance
companies notify MVD of all policy
cancellations, non-renewals, and new
policies. If your insurance company sends
MVD a notice that your policy is no longer
active, we will send you an inquiry notice to
verify insurance status.
It is important that you verify that the
vehicle identification number (VIN)
supplied by your insurance company
matches the VIN on your vehicle
registration. If it does not match, ask
your insurance company to resubmit
the correct VIN. To verify your insurance
coverage on file with MVD, please visit
ServiceArizona.com and click on “Insurance
Failure to maintain proper insurance with a
correct VIN on file with MVD could lead to
the suspension of your vehicle registration
and/or driver license. To reinstate these
privileges, fees and future proof of
financial responsibility must be filed with
MVD. The future proof requirement is
most commonly an SR-22 form from an
insurance company. This can be expensive
to the vehicle owner, especially since the
law requires the owner to carry the SR-22
for 3 years from the date of suspension.
Out-of-state license plates must be
surrendered when you obtain Arizona
plates. Personalized and special plates
are available for most vehicles. Check
our website at ServiceArizona.com for
examples of available special plates.
When you register a vehicle in Arizona
for the first time or renew an existing
registration, you receive a license plate tab
that includes the month and the year the
registration expires and the plate number.
Registration Compliance Program
Millions of dollars are uncollected annually
due to failure to comply with Arizona’s
Registration Laws. State law requires that
new residents obtain an Arizona driver
license and register vehicles immediately.
MVD’s Registration Compliance Program
educates the public on Arizona Vehicle
Motor Vehicle Division
Registration Laws (see page 9, “Resident
To report a resident of Arizona who is not
in compliance with Arizona registration
laws, call 1.800.657.4322 or report a violator
online: azdot.gov/mvd/registration then
click on the Registration Compliance
Alternative Fuel Vehicles (AFV)
AFVs are those vehicles exclusively
powered by liquified petroleum gas
(propane), natural gas (CNG/LNG), a
blend of 70% alternative fuel and 30%
petroleum-based fuel, hydrogen, solar
or electric (excluding golf carts). Original
equipment manufactured AFVs, less than
two model years old, may be exempt from
the emissions testing requirement.
Call the Arizona Department of
Environmental Quality (ADEQ) at
602.771.3954 to determine if your vehicle
is exempt. Hydrogen, solar and electric
vehicles are exempt from all emissions
For more information about AFV
exemptions, visit the ADEQ website
myAZcar.com. If you have technical
questions regarding AFV contact ADEQ’s
Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program by
calling 602.771.3950 or visiting us online at
AFVs are eligible for a lower tax rate and
are issued a special license plate or decal
allowing the use of the HOV “carpool”
freeway lanes anytime regardless of the
number of passengers.
Partnership Programs coordinate MVD’s
e-government activities and oversee the
authorization of public and private entities,
known as third parties, to provide MVD
services. These alternative service delivery
methods provide convenience to Arizona
residents and businesses that need motor
vehicle or driver license services while
keeping MVD's expenses in line, even as
the state continues to grow.
Third party partners are required to meet
MVD standards and meet established
deadlines for reporting their activities.
Examples of these e-government and
partnership alternatives are:
ServiceArizona is MVD’s online service
option. Customers can use ServiceArizona.
com to conduct a variety of motor vehicle
and driver license transactions (see p.6 for a
list of services). ServiceArizona self-service
centers are available at many MVD offices,
providing a convenient option for faster
In addition to online registration renewal,
customers may renew (toll free) by
telephone by following the voice prompts
Third Party Services
Third party providers are authorized to
offer most MVD title, registration and
driver license services. They often offer
convenient extended hours on weekends
and evenings. Convenience fees may
apply. MVD monitors the quality of
third party work to ensure it meets state
standards. For a list of MVD Third Party
offices, visit azmvdservices.com.
Motor Vehicle Division’s Authorized
Third Party driver training schools offer
education and behind the wheel training
for new drivers and for those who wish to
brush up on their driving skills. The schools,
are required to teach MVD’s training
curriculum, based on national standards.
MVD, in collaboration with the Arizona
Department of Education, also certifies
high school driver education programs.
Commercial Driver License Examiners
Many public and private sector entities
in Arizona have MVD-certified examiners
who are authorized to administer the
demonstration skill test to applicants
for the commercial driver license (CDL).
These third parties include school districts,
government agencies at all levels and
businesses that have employees who
mirrors. Before putting the vehicle in
motion, check your turn signals and brakes
to ensure they are in working order.
Arizona's Safety Belt Law (Buckle Up
Each front seat occupant of a motor vehicle
per federal and state motor vehicle safety
standards must either:
• Have the lap and shoulder belt
properly adjusted and fastened while
the vehicle is in motion, or
• If only a lap belt is installed where the
occupant is sitting, the lap belt must be
properly adjusted and fastened while
the vehicle is in motion.
The operator of a motor vehicle must
require all passengers under the age of 16
years to buckle up.
A combination lap/shoulder belt greatly
reduces your chances of being seriously
injured in a motor vehicle crash. The lap
belt prevents ejection and protects your
lower body. The shoulder belt keeps your
head and chest from striking the dashboard
or windshield. In vehicles with automatic
shoulder belts and manual lap belts, it is
extremely important to buckle the lap belt.
Child Car Seat Safety Information
(Buckle Up Children!)
Seat belts alone are not designed for
children. State and federal laws require that
children are secured in an age-appropriate
child passenger restraint system until they
are 8 years of age, or at least four feet, nine
If you see an unrestrained child in a moving
vehicle, please call 1.800.505.BABY with the
vehicle plate number, city, and location of
the child in the vehicle.
require the CDL, as well as driving schools
that specialize in CDL instruction.
Third Party Inspection
Third Party providers, many of them motor
vehicle dealerships, are authorized by MVD
to perform Level I inspections. If necessary,
vehicles are referred to MVD for a Level II or
Level III inspection.
Traffic Survival School Program
The Traffic Survival School Program is
designed for drivers who have convictions
for serious driving violations, have an
accumulation of points on their driving
record or are at risk for having their driving
privilege suspended. The program goal
is to change or modify risky or unsafe
driving behavior. Traffic survival schools
are licensed by the Arizona Chapter of
the National Safety Council (NSC). NSC
qualifies instructors to teach the MVD-
approved curriculum. A list of currently
authorized traffic survival schools can be
found online: azdot.gov/mvd.
Before You Drive
Your vehicle must have no defective
or missing equipment. The following
equipment should be in working order:
• Turn signals
• Windshield (intact)
• Tires in good condition
• Seat belts
• Driver and front passenger side
• Emergency flashers
Upon entering the vehicle, adjust your seat
and steering wheel, rear view and outside
Motor Vehicle Division
Drivers transporting more than one child
must secure as many children in child
passenger restraint devices as reasonable
given the size of the passenger area and
number of passengers being transported.
Child safety seats must meet U.S.
Department of Transportation safety
standards and must be used by
following manufacturer’s and automobile
Air bags can save lives and prevent serious
injuries. They are intended to be used with
safety belts. Children age 12 years and
under should never ride in the front seat of
a vehicle. If a child must ride in the front
seat, turn the front seat passenger side
air bag indicator to the off position, if the
vehicle does not have an automatic sensor.
Governor’s Office of Highway Safety
For more information on safety issues,
contact the Arizona Governor’s Office
of Highway Safety. In Phoenix call
602.255.3216; statewide call toll-free
1.877.355.3216; or online at azgohs.gov.
Travel Information Service
With a rapidly growing
travelers need current travel
information fast. Dial 511 any
time, day or night for up-to-
the-minute reports about:
• Traffic Conditions and Road Closures
• Metro Region Quick Reports
Just dial 511 and press the star key (*) to
activate the system’s touch tone mode
and you will be guided through the
available features. You may also use the
voice-activated prompts. When using
voice activation, please listen to the entire
introduction and reduce background
In addition, travel information is available
via the Internet at az511.com.
511 and az511.com are provided as free
services by the Arizona Department of
Check the Vehicle
How safely you can drive starts with
the vehicle you are driving. It is the
responsibility of drivers to make certain
that the vehicles they drive are safe to
operate. A vehicle that is unsafe costs more
to operate than one that is maintained.
A vehicle in good condition can give you
an extra safety margin when you need it.
Your vehicle may be required to have
an emission inspection at an authorized
Inspection Station. If the vehicle does not
pass, you will be given 30 days to have
the problem fixed and have a follow-up
emission test re-check.
Follow your vehicle owner’s manual for
routine maintenance. Some maintenance
you can do yourself and some must be
done by a qualified technician. A few
simple checks will help prevent trouble on
All Truck and Trailers
Secure and Cover Loads!
According to Arizona law, “A person shall
not drive or move a vehicle on a highway
unless the vehicle is constructed or loaded
in a manner to prevent any of its load from
dropping, sifting, leaking or otherwise
escaping from the vehicle.”(A.R.S. 28-
Documents you may be interested
Documents you may be interested