Administrator User Guide
Considerations when Merging Duplicate Users
Merging cannot be undone and should be done with caution. Before merging any account, it is important that
you first consider the following.
• Confirm that the two (or more) accounts are for the same person before merging. You can generally
do this by carefully examining the account details, but occasionally you may need contact the user to
• Determine which account should be the primary account.
• Only select accounts for a single person at a time. When selecting accounts to merge, if you see two
accounts for John Smith and two accounts for Jane Smith, only select the accounts for a single user
and perform the merge. Return later to merge the accounts for the second user. If you selected all 4
accounts, they would all merge, combining information for both John Smith and Jane Smith in the
same user account.
• What is merged?
Historical manuscript data
Tasks to be completed.
• What is not merged?
Account information (address, password, etc.)
"Has pending reminders for"
• Admins may not merge accounts for other Admins
If this confirmation window shows pending reminders, consider merging the accounts the other way. If you
merge away an account with pending reminders the system will send the review reminder letters even after
the user has submitted the review.
There are 2 ways to access the Merge Users page: from the user Search Results page and from the Merge
Duplicate Users link located in the Tools section of the Admin dashboard. Instructions for each are detailed
Document Version 2.6
Issue Date 1-December-2015