Accessing Data and Data Analysis
Customizing Queries on Universes
What are the restrictions on user objects?
You can work only with the user objects that you create yourself, and you cannot
move user objects from the User Objects class. Also, user objects are available
only in the universe in which they were created.
User objects are not shared. Reports that include user objects can only be
viewed by other end-users. This is because user objects are stored locally in a
user object definition file. Other end-users, who do not have the same user object
definition file, are not able to access the user object definitions. If an end-user
tries to refresh or edit a query that contains another user’s user objects,
BusinessObjects removes the objects from the query and report.
Despite these restrictions, the universe designer can convert user objects into
regular objects that can be made available in other universes and for other users.
You cannot schedule reports that contain user objects and keep the user objects;
they are removed when the report is refreshed. For more information refer to the
InfoView User’s Guide.
How can an end-user share user objects with other users?
If you want to share user objects with other users, you should ask the universe
designer to include these user objects in the related universe in order to make
them available to all BusinessObjects end-users.
Creating, editing and deleting user objects
BusinessObjects lets you create user objects in two different ways.
The following sections describe how to create, edit and delete user objects using
the Universes command.
If you want to...
create user objects that you can use
only in the universe that contains the
click User Objects on the Query Panel
You cannot delete user objects this
create, edit, or delete user objects in
any of the universes available to you,
click Universes on the Tools menu.